Scatter-Brained

As this is the last week for our blogging exercise, I don’t feel the need to be as structured as I have been. And although I plan on continuing my posts about planning a Disney World vacation, today I’m just going to blog. I am 44 days away from my own Walt Disney World vacation and I am chomping at the bit. Figuratively at least. I find my mind wandering to Florida on a daily basis and all this beautiful warm weather we’ve been having hasn’t helped me out one bit. I feel like I should actually be in Florida right now with this weather, not in Clare, Michigan. March in mid-Michigan is usually snowy and cold, certainly now shorts and flip-flops weather; and yet here we are busting out the summer clothes. This actually poses a problem for me as I am a bit of planner and started laying out clothes for our upcoming vacation at about 67 days out from vacation. Last year this strategy worked out well since normally I didn’t even think about my tank tops or shorts until after we were back from vacation. Those clothes were fine sitting out on the spare bed until I packed them up a couple days before we left. So this year I start this same routine, only now I’m sneaking into the spare room and pulling things out to wear. I’m having to limit myself. NO WEARING OF DISNEY CLOTHES. I do actually own other summer clothes, but hadn’t gotten them out yet, for reasons already explained, so I’ve had to dig some of those out for now.

My obsession isn’t limited to my “Disney wardrobe” either (although I do have to make two more shopping trips to complete my wardrobe wishlist for this trip), I am crafting envelopes for put the tips for our housekeeping – or mousekeeping – service, I am making my packing list and checking it twice or three, or well, lots of times; I’m making a list of all the things I have to do before we leave for vacation, I’m watching anything and everything I can get my hands on that has to do with Disney World, I’ve made and need to print our daily Disney World itinerary, etc. etc. I think you get the idea. I am consumed with Disney fever.

As silly as it may seem, my obsession with our Disney vacation is actually keeping me sane. The rest of my life has me stressed out, so for now I can throw myself into vacation planning and put my head into a better place. It’s like those people who when they get mad, they clean. When I can’t take it anymore, I plan my Disney vacation. Some days I wish I was a cleaner, but being a Disney planner isn’t so bad either. Here’s to a very quick next 44 days so I can find some much needed relief!

Leave a Reply

